The Capital Region is getting hit once again with severe winter weather. The Winter Weather Advisory issued by the National Weather Service predicts 4-8 inches of snow and a tenth an inch of ice in the 24-36 hours. Which means many cities and townships are preparing by issuing Snow Emergencies.


Amsterdam - Effective at 6 p.m. Wednesday. All motor vehicle must be removed from city streets by 6 p.m. and must remain off the streets until the snow emergency is lifted. Those in need of parking accommodations can visit the Amsterdam Police Department Facebook Page for information. The list is also available in the "SNOW" pamphlet that was mailed to city residents in November, 2013.


Catskill - Beginning 8 p.m. on Wednesday. All vehicles should be parked on the odd side of village streets until 8 a.m. Thursday. From 8 a.m. Thursday to 8 p.m. all vehicles should be on the even side of the streets. Vehicles will need to switch sides of the street every 12 hours until all streets have been cleaned of snow. There will be no parking on Main Street from Greene Street to Summit Avenue beginning Wednesday at 8 p.m. to 8 a.m. Thursday.


Glens Falls - By order of Mayor John Diamond, a "snow emergency" will be in place in the City of Glens Falls from 8 p.m., Wednesday, March 12 to 7 a.m., Thursday, March 13, 2014. During the snow emergency, all on-street parking is banned and all on-street travel is discouraged within the city. The purpose of the snow emergency is to enhance the safety of city residents while allowing city DPW crews to clear the streets of snow.


Saratoga Springs - Beginning at: 9:00 p.m., on Wednesday, March 12, 2014.

  • Beginning at 9:00 a.m., Thursday, March 13, all vehicles on City Streets (except alternate side parking streets), must be moved to a plowed or cleared area.  Accordingly, all vehicles must be moved every twelve (12) hours thereafter until 9:00 p.m. on Friday, March 14, 2014.
  • Except for those streets posted for alternate side parking, it shall be unlawful to park or stand a motor vehicle for any continuous period of time in excess of twelve (12) hours.