If the clouds could make some space this evening we could be seeing a spectacular light show over the Capital Region tonight!

Tonight (December 13th) and tomorrow morning (December 14th) while the sky is dark try to make a point to step outside and check out the sky. The Geminids, one of the years top meteor showers, is supposed to be at it's peak!

According to Space.com the sky show should begin at about 7pm and somewhere around 9 or 10pm you could be able to see meteors shooting through the sky at a rate as high as one or two meteors per minute!

I know that the snow and rain have been making their way around the Capital Region today so it is possible that our view of one of the two best meteor showers of the year could possibly be obstructed. If you find that you cannot see it where you live  you can see it online!

Watch a Geminids webcast here on Space.com courtesy of NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Alabama starting at about 6 p.m. EST (2300 GMT) on Dec. 13. The Virtual Telescope Project will also host a webcast here showing live views from Italy, starting at 5 p.m. EDT (2200 GMT) on Dec. 13, and Arizona, starting at 5 a.m. (1000 GMT) on Dec. 14.

Happy sky watching!