Contact Us

Dave Grohl Speaks on Nirvana’s ‘In Utero” Anniversary Edition + Directors Cut of “Heart Shaped Box” [Video]

Universal Music

September 24th will see the 20th Anniversary edition of Nirvana’s final album ‘In Utero’ hit store shelves. There will be multiple versions of the release including a deluxe set featuring a DVD loaded with extras and rare footage. 

The highest level “Super Deluxe” edition will be the holy grail for Nirvana fans, full set list below. The set will include 3 CDs featuring over 70 songs: a new mix on the album, Dave Grohl’s first demo with the band, never-before-released instrumentals, and Kurt Cobain’s handwritten lyrics in the liner notes.

Also in this deluxe set will be a DVD featuring the band’s Live and Loud performance, (which is one of the band’s last), a collection of other live footage, and the directors cut of the “Heart Shaped Box” music video; which you can view below.

Dave Grohl, who has had much success since his Nirvana days with his own band the Foo Fighters, recently spoke on the release:

I recognize myself back then and I remember what it was like to be in the band but it’s hard to believe that that much time has gone by. A lot has happened in those 20 years, when I think about ‘In Utero’ and what the world was like, what my life was like back then, it’s strange.”

From the time that ‘Nevermind’ came out in September of 1991 to the time that Nirvana was over, it was really just a few years and a lot happened in those few years. I look back at this album and looking at the packaging and the old pictures and listening to songs that I haven’t heard in 20 years, all of these rarities and demos, it’s kind of a trip.

In Utero’s 20th Anniversary Edition hits stores on September 24th

Heart Shaped Box – Director’s Cut

Heart Shaped Box – TV Version
Subscribe to Q103 on


Super Deluxe Edition Track List:

CD One – Original album remastered plus all B-sides & bonus tracks recorded at Pachyderm

01. Serve The Servants (Albini mix/original release) – 3:39
02. Scentless Apprentice (Albini mix/original release) – 3:47
03. Heart-Shaped Box (Litt mix/original release) – 4:41
04. Rape Me (Albini mix/original release) – 2:51
05. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle (Albini mix/original release) – 4:09
06. Dumb (Albini mix/original release) – 2:32
07. Very Ape (Albini mix/original release) – 1:55
08. Milk It (Albini mix/original release) – 3:54
09. Pennyroyal Tea (Albini mix/original release) – 3:37
10. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter (Albini mix/original release) – 4:51
11. Tourette’s (Albini mix/original release) – 1:35
12. All Apologies (Litt mix/original release) – 3:55
13. Gallons Of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through The Strip (ex-U.S. bonus track) – 7:35
14. Marigold (B-side; “Heart Shaped Box) – 2:34
15. Moist Vagina (B-side; “All Apologies”) – 3:33
16. Sappy (from “No Alternative” compilation) – 3:28
17. I Hate Myself And Want To Die (from “The Beavis And Butthead Experience” compilation) – 2:59
18. Pennyroyal Tea (Litt mix) – 3:36
19. Heart-Shaped Box (Albini mix/unreleased) – 4:42
20. All Apologies (Albini mix/unreleased) – 3:58

CD Two – 2013 album mix plus pre-album demos

01. Serve The Servants (2013 mix) – 3:36
02. Scentless Apprentice (2013 mix) – 3:49
03. Heart-Shaped Box (2013 mix) – 4:41
04. Rape Me (2013 mix) – 2:49
05. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle (2013 mix) – 4:12
06. Dumb (2013 mix) – 2:32
07. Very Ape (2013 mix) – 1:57
08. Milk It (2013 mix) – 3:56
09. Pennyroyal Tea (2013 mix) – 3:32
10. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter (2013 mix) – 4:51
11. Tourette’s (2013 mix) – 1:35
12. All Apologies (2013 mix) – 3:55
13. Scentless Apprentice (Rio demo) – 3:54
14. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle (Laundry Room demo) – 4:33
15. Dumb (Word Of Mouth demo) – 2:39
16. Very Ape (Rio demo) — 2:21
17. Pennyroyal Tea (Word Of Mouth demo) – 3:31
18. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter (Word Of Mouth demo) – 2:40
19. Tourettes (Word Of Mouth demo) – 2:14
20. Marigold (Upland Studios demo)- 3:25
21. All Apologies (Music Source demo) – 4:25
22. Forgotten Tune (Rehearsal) – 2:04
23. Jam (Word Of Mouth demo) – 5:44

CD Three – Live & Loud: Live At Pier 48, Seattle, Washington – December 13, 1993

01. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter
02. Drain You
03. Breed
04. Serve The Servants
05. Rape Me
06. Sliver
07. Pennyroyal Tea
08. Scentless Apprentice
09. All Apologies
10. Heart-Shaped Box
11. Blew
12. The Man Who Sold The World
13. School
14. Come As You Are
15. Lithium
16. About a Girl
17. Endless, Nameless

DVD – Live & Loud: Live At Pier 48, Seattle, Washington – December 13, 1993

01. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter*
02. Drain You*
03. Breed*
04. Serve The Servants*
05. Rape Me*
06. Sliver
07. Pennyroyal Tea*
08. Scentless Apprentice*
09. All Apologies
10. Heart-Shaped Box*
11. Blew
12. The Man Who Sold The World
13. School
14. Come As You Are
15. Lithium*
16. About a Girl
17. Endless, Nameless*


18. Very Ape (Live & Loud Rehearsal)
19. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter (Live & Loud Rehearsal)
20. Rape Me (Live & Loud Rehearsal)
21. Pennyroyal Tea (Live & Loud Rehearsal)
22. Heart-Shaped Box (Original Music Video + Director’s Cut)
23. Rape Me (Live on “Nulle Part Ailleurs” – Paris, France)
24. Pennyroyal Tea (Live on “Nulle Part Ailleurs” – Paris, France)
25. Drain You (Live on “Nulle Part Ailleurs” – Paris, France)
26. Serve The Servants (Live on “Tunnel” – Rome, Italy)
27. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter (Live in Munich, Germany)
28. My Best Friend’s Girl (Live in Munich, Germany)
29. Drain You (Live in Munich, Germany)


Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Rock-A-Holics quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Rock-A-Holics contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.