After eight seasons, Fox has decided to pull the plug on the series 'House' this spring.  In a statement released on Wednesday from the show's executive producers, and star Hugh Laurie, "The producers have always imagined House as an enigmatic creature; he should never be the last one to leave the party. How much better to disappear before the music stops, while there is still some promise and mystique in the air." In a separate statement Fox entertainment chief Kevin Reilly said  "While it’s with much regret, and a lump in our throats, we respect the decision [executive producers] Hugh, David [Shore] and Katie [Jacobs] have made....For eight seasons, the entire House team has given us -- and fans around the world -- some of the most compelling characters and affecting stories ever seen on television."

The 'House' series finale, will be sometime in April, after 177 episodes.  The show premiered in 2004 and starring Hugh Laurie, the British actor who portrays the titular, cantankerous doctor.   Lisa Edelstein, Olivia Wilde, Robert Sean Leonard, Jesse Spencer, Omar Epps, Jennifer Morrison, Kal Penn and Amber Tamblyn have been part of the cast at one point or another.