It's been more that five years since Rush has released original material.  The band has finally revealed the release date for their 20th studio and long-awaited new album, Clockwork Angels, as June 12. The first single, "Headlong Flight," will be out April 19. 
If you have gone to a Rush show on the Time Machine Tour in 2010 or 2011, then you may have already heard the first two tracks,  'Caravan' and 'BU2B'.  The band had started recording the new disc in April of 2010, and resumed working on the disc last fall.

According to a statement released by Rush, "Clockwork Angels is a concept album described as the story of a young man’s quest across a lavish and colorful world of steampunk and alchemy as he attempts to follow his dreams, and features lost cities, pirates, anarchists, an exotic carnival, and a rigid Watchmaker who imposes precision on every aspect of daily life."

The album will also turn into a novel to be written by  sci-fi writer Kevin J. Anderson, in collaboration with Rush drummer Neil Peart. Rush also plans a North American tour in support of the disc.

Here's the track listing for Clockwork Angels:



"Clockwork Angels"

"The Anarchist"


"Halo Effect"

"Seven Cities of Gold"

"The Wreckers"

"Headlong Flight"


"Wish Them Well"

"The Garden"