Contact Us

Rapper Tech N9ne To Release “Metal-Themed” EP, Teams With Ross Robinson & Wes Borland

Underground rap sensation Tech N9ne has recently been getting a lot of respect from the rock world. This past summer he appeared on Five Finger Death Punch’s “Wrong Side of Heaven, Righteous Side of Hell Vol.1″ album with the bands cover of LL Cool J’s “Mama Said Knock You Out“.

Now Tech is stepping out on his own in the rock world with an “aggressive new metal-tinged” EP called “Therapy.” For this release, Tech N9ne enlisted the rock talents of producer Ross Robinson (Slipknot, Korn), Limp Bizkit guitarist Wes Borland and Sammy Siegler of Glassjaw.

“Therapy” hits store on November 5th with 11 tracks (7 songs, 4 skits).

The first single from the EP, ‘Hiccup‘ (check it out below), has a “punkish feel” to it claims the Kansas rapper:

There are certain things I wanted to touch on with that song like Charles Ramsey. It’s about evil people in the world who think they’re going to get away with bad things, but there’s always a hiccup in their plans because evil shall not prevail over angels. These ideas were on my mind—whether it’s the horrible stories you hear or things as strange as Twitter beefs. I’m proud of it.

Tech steps out of his own element with this EP. Teaming with Ross Robinson was like therapy and every step of the process proved to be “frighting” and “fulfilling” for the rapper:

We did it outside of my comfort zone and outside of Strange Music. This is raw instruments. It’s a thrill for me. I don’t think this is going to be my last Therapy session with Ross Robinson.

Tech spent two weeks in a Venice Beach hotel near Ross’ studio and would spend his morning in the studio or near the beach writing lyrics. The afternoons would see Tech and Robinson working out musical elements and recording vocals.

If “Hiccup” is any indication of how the rest of EP will sound, this could be the revival of Rap-Rock that took over the early 2000’s, expect this time – it will be a rapper coming in to the rock world.

Therapy track listing:

1. The Ghost (Therapy Skit One)
2.  Public School (featuring Krizz Kaliko)
3.  Head Now (featuring Bernz & Wrekonize)
4.  Hiccup
5.  Therapy Skit Two
6.  Shame on Me (featuring Caroline Dupuy Heerwagen)
7.  Jacob Wells Message (skit)
8.  When Demons Come (featuring Tyler Lyon)
9.  Therapy Skit Three
10. I.L.L.
11. Stop the Sailor

(Lyrics NSFW – listen with headphones)
Subscribe to Q103 on

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Rock-A-Holics quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Rock-A-Holics contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.