Contact Us

Make Yourself Practically Invisible on Facebook

It’s called stealth mode. It is now possible for Facebook users to change every single security option so that they are virtually invisible.

Photo: Peter Macdiarmid, Getty Images

You may be wondering what the purpose of this is. Why have a Facebook account if you’re just going to be invisible? Here’s why:

There have been numerous instances of security scandals and problems over the years of Facebook’s existance. So much so that it has caused many users to cancel and delete their accounts. The new stealth mode makes it possible for users to have an account while being and feeling like they are safe as well. All information can be for the user only, or exclusively for the user and his/her friends.
Another reason for stealth mode is that many outside websites now require the user to have a Facebook account, since so many are incorporating some of the same development tools into their own sites. This allows users to be able to login and use a ton of other sites using their Facebook login information, making it easier and faster. Users can have a Facebook account without actually needing it, and can make themselves completely invisible so no one can see when they log in and out, look at their information or pictures, or anything else they want kept private.
Here are the steps users can take to become invisible:
If you’re ready to move into Facebook stealth mode, follow these simple steps:

• Visit Facebook.com, log in to your profile and click ‘Account’ in the top-right corner. From there, choose ‘Privacy Settings.’

• From the ‘Privacy Settings’ page, click on ‘View Settings’ to see who can search for you, send messages to your account, see your education and work settings and more. Change all of these drop-down menus to ‘Friends Only.’

• Return to the ‘Privacy Settings’ page and choose ‘Customize Settings’ near the bottom of the page. This new page will load a number of different privacy options, but you’ll want to click through each one and change the setting to ‘Only Me’ so that nobody else can see your Facebook activity.

• Stay on the ‘Customize Settings’ page and scroll down to ‘Things Others Share.’ Here, you’ll want to edit and disable settings so that your friends are unable to write on your wall, comment on posts and check you in to places.

• Return to the ‘Privacy Settings’ page and, under ‘Apps and Websites’ in the bottom-left corner, select ‘Edit Your Settings.’ This page shows all of the third-party websites and applications that you have given access to some of your Facebook information. If you see anything on this list that you want to remove, just click to remove it from the list.

• Stay on the ‘Apps and Websites’ page, scroll down to ‘Instant Personalization’ and select ‘Edit Settings.’ Uncheck the box at the bottom of this page to block other websites from accessing your Facebook interests. Select ‘Confirm’ when a pop-up asks you if you’re sure you want to disable this option.

• Return to the ‘Apps and Websites’ page, scroll down to ‘Public Search’ and select ‘Edit Settings.’ To keep search engines from finding your Facebook profile, uncheck the box on this new screen.

If you’re in the dilemna of wanting to delete your Facebook account, but don’t want to give it up completely or lose all of your pictures, friends and information, then this is the perfect solution. It’s a win win situation for those who choose to remain anonymous but who also want access to the websites who prefer or require users to have a Facebook account. If you’re one of these people, then change your settings and go stealth!

More from Q103

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your points and personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account with your Facebook account, just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing profile and VIP program points. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://q103albany.com using your Facebook account.

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

Register on Q 103 - Albany's Rock Station quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!

Not a Member? Sign Up Here

Register on Q 103 - Albany's Rock Station quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!