Contact Us

Deleted Facebook Photos May Still Not Be Deleted – Tech Tuesday

Remember that embarrassing photo of you that you asked your friend to take down a couple years back? It may not be deleted. Arstechnica first reported and has been following up on a story of how Facebook’s systems have not been deleting photos and are still accessible, even though Facebook has said they are gone.  Now 3 years later, it’s the same story.

Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images

Frederic Wolens, a Facebook spokesman, said “The systems we used for photo storage a few years ago did not always delete images from content delivery networks in a reasonable period of time even though they were immediately removed from the site.” The legacy system they are stored on right now didn’t always delete the photos when they were supposed to, but this was just a small percentage.  He went on to say that the new system they are fine tuning will stop this issue once and for all.

The only problem I have with this is that they have said these kinds of things before and been caught in the lie. So are they really going to do it? Or is this just another line? After all, their business model is to sell info about us to advertisers to have targeted ads delivered. So I’m skeptical of this right now. But I still hope that at some point they will see the light and finally allow those photos to be removed. But as the saying goes, if it’s on the internet, it’s forever.

$>logout

Best of Q103

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://q103albany.com using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Rock-A-Holics quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Rock-A-Holics contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.